Moonlight cafe in December

Moonlight cafe in December by Al-Logaha Hand

I.
Coffee and sandwhichs
a mirror of 10
red headband matches her neighbor’s beard
man of simplicity, hidden in thought, sleek features of subtle intent
his face so amorous, all the other men admire his mission in life-a sharp well-defined beauty.
Yes, there are two layers of me-crusted in that inkling of being-give 5 or 10 and I’ll begin again…
Old man savours his sandwhich, piece by piece, inch by meters, in front of me and them.
I wanted some.
It is December, a time of sharing. Remembering a ficticous Utopia, a precipice of a developed green hedge. Undoubtedly, something to think of.
Do I smell vanilla in the brew today or is it a hint of your perfume taking over my senses?
Let me sit back and ponder something utterly unpredictable and unbounded-a symbol of my current state of mind.
I have a penchant for remembering and longing for the careful movements of your long fingers across my back.

II.
Just then, her face appeared above the heart that was engraved upon that dress’s reflection. Much more intense than that red headband.
He stood between the trees and streets, looking at us all as one piece of entertainment.
His hat was turquois and white striped and stood as a flag for the rest of us to go ahead on by.
She might stay for awhile if the other woman in yellow doesn’t interfere with her passive fight to be what she always dreamed of (a singer).
Trees again.
This time with a tall man wearing that same flag of a hat but he did indeed wave in our direction.
There might still be light here in the darkness of winter.
Yet, I am see-through.
Like a ghost on a highway and there is light in fact as it shows between night and dawn.
Green and yellow balloon blooms through the holes, just below the feather leaves, pointing at you, me and them.
Maybe, I’ll pull one free and suck out its juice and become one with it.
A true vision quest.
No more darkness.
I shall step away no longer laden with fear.
This moon is remaining with me.
Please God don’t leave me or any of us alone even for a blink of an eye.
I need this mirrored light, it floats a blossom of my essential self.
I adhere to my reflection in it.
As I lay here, I imagine swimming in the waters of The Emirates for the pearls in my necklace.
Oh how soft we live our lives.
Without knowing its deepest treasures.
No need for magic when we can bark at the moon through song and no one signs the lunacy papers, locks us up and throws away the key…
No, we say no to such imprisonment!!
We are free tonight!!!
III.
In geometry, I find the appropiate response to your love.
Symetry clearly unmatched.
Colors placed perfectly and balanced like butterfly wings-the same on both sides.
The blue ones with black circles-my all-time favorites.
They make me remember the Blue Fairy of my childhood.
I sang to her once, my hands rolling circles enabled with a shrinking loneliness.
How can I give you something without restraint?
How can I control the desired emotional response?
Do you trust me to tell you the truth?
I have these burning hot questions which I hang on a righteous trivet for you.
I believe in your answers.
It is riddled expression-a mask in order to revisit your advice.
I ask tenderly that I receive notification that you’ll still be there when it’s all over.
The thickness of your emotion runs deep in my pores.
I am ready to take you in but please have mercy and give me one bit at a time so I don’t melt in seconds when the sun comes out.
The moon suits me best.
Her light is my namesake.
It is not a random designation but a special destination.
IV.
I wish I could find Goldilocks in the ‘real world’. She might be the right precipice for the change in the world that I am trying to be.
Or, at least, a new shining illumination to lean upon.
Perhaps, it would be an inspiration to try something new instead of getting vaguely disapproving attitudes from ‘the Other’, like most do who don’t know me well.
I did not expect to feel this way…
Again, perhaps, perhaps, perhaps a new proposition is in order.
No, I’ll have to think it over.
There is a mission in this life but I’ll need a white flag to show my enemies.
I like vanilla in my coffee and on my skin, did I already say that?
Yes, in- deed, repetition is my for-te in this life.
It seems to serve me well.
Perhaps, you too.
OOPs, maybe you as well dear.
Even the twilight is too bright today-it is time for the moon’s song I suppose.
I genuflect before The Creator, as your eager audience and as the night-light’s receptacle…

2 thoughts on “Moonlight cafe in December

  1. Hannah Gosselin

    I find it interesting to be thinking in December thoughts – the giving time in May… I love this, “hidden in thought” that’s an intriguing concept. It’s funny, I was just thinking back this week to past perfumes that I wore, (when I used to where them), vanilla was one.

    This first portion is sensuous…I love the section on pearls and life’s deepest treasures and the cyclical closing.

    Excellent piece of writing. đŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. thelanguageofherhand Post author

      Thank you for such a nice comment. I wish I had more time online to really discuss this but I was thinking of seasons of giving and holiday memories in general. here is Algeria, it is almost time for the month of fasting and it is our holiday season, so I mixed the two cultures of my mind, heart, etc. I have a thing for perfume both essence and being and I see you got that here, cool that you used to wear vanilla as a perfume, I appreciate your comments and I am enjoying writing about your work as well, Have a lovely day

      Reply

Leave a Reply

